the indie music database

since 2007

The Radio Dept.

The Radio Dept.


Years Active: 1995 to present

Genre: Twee, Indie Pop

Country: Sweden


John Duncanson (guitar / vocals)
Martin Carlberg (guitar)
Daniel Tjader (keyboards)
Elin Almered, former member
Lisa Carlberg, former member
Le Bombe, former member
Per Blomgren , former member
Kim Sjolander, former member
Max Weiland, former member
Rugar, former member

Artist Bio:

(From the Labrador Records website) The Radio Dept. was formed by Elin Almered and Johan Duncanson in 1995 who were in the school together in their early teenage years. The name was taken from a gas station/radio repairer in Lund (Sweden) which had a large sign with the name Radioavdelningen (The Radio Department in Swedish) hanging outside their shop. Just like today Elin and Johan hung out with people who, if they didn't play music, were into photo, film, art and the likes. The Radio Deptartment was a suiting name as it became a department of it's own among their friends' activities. Since 1995 members has been coming and going and at some points there has never really been a Radio Department at all. Martin Larsson and Johan Duncanson started playing together in 1998 and decided to use the name The Radio Dept. Since then the band has done lots of gigs and lots recordings. The Radio Dept. has recorded on 4-tracks in friends' living rooms or at home, in smelly wharehouse, in demo studios with blinking fluorecent lightning and at schools. In the autumn of 2001 Lisa Carlberg, bass player and the love of Martin, and Per Blomgren, drums, joined the band......[Read More]