the indie music database

since 2007

Yo La Tengo

Yo La Tengo

photo by GODLIS

Yo La Tengo

Years Active: 1984 to present

Genre: indie rock

Country: United States


Ira Kaplan (guitars, vocals)
Georgia Hubley (drums, vocals)
James McNew (bass, vocals)

Artist Bio:

Yo La Tengo is an American indie rock band formed in Hoboken, New Jersey in 1984. Since 1992, the lineup has consisted of Ira Kaplan (guitars, vocals), Georgia Hubley (drums, vocals), and James McNew (bass, vocals). Despite achieving limited mainstream success, Yo La Tengo has been called "the quintessential critics' band" and maintain a strong cult following. Additionally, the band is renowned for its encyclopedic repertoire of cover songs both in live performance and on record.[Read More]



Related Posts